Commander's Comments | Mar 2011

Corey Curtiss - Ann Arbor No 13 Avatar.gif

Order of the Red Cross

As the first step in a Commandery of Knights Templar, The Illustrious Order of the Red Cross continues the story of the Royal Arch and deals with a period in Jewish history at the time of the reurn of the Jews from capitivity and the efforts to rebuild the Temple of their God in Jerusalem. The Illustrious Order of the Red Cross, peculiar to America, teaches the lessons of the triumph of TRUTH.

Order of Knight of Malta

The second Order in the Commandery is the Knight of Malta with its pass degree of Knight of St. Paul or the Mediterranean Pass. This Order is the first Christian Order encountered by the candidate. The ritual is based historically upon one of the old Order of the Crusades. In this order you are taught to be zealous and vigilant for the Order of Knighthood.

Order of the Temple

This is the third and most impressive Order of the Commandery and is wholly Christian. The Templar tradition derives from the Society of the same name which played so important a part in the Crusades of the Middle Ages. Beautiful lessons of the death and ascension of our Saviour are inculcated and the candidate is received into full fellowship, in the most solemn manner. This order will strengthen you in your quest for your growth in the Christian Religion and in your work and support for furthering the tenets of Brotherly Love and Friendship.


The K.Y.C.H., Knight York Cross of Honour is an honor that can be bestowed upon a York Rite Mason for service in and to the Fraternity. He must have served as the leader of his Lodge, Chapter, Council and Commandery and been nominated by his peers and elected to receive this distinction.